The Chakra Colors | Reclaiming Zen

The Chakra Colors

So, what is a Chakra?


You may have noticed the word Chakra pops up a lot, virtually all human cultures known to us have a concept of mind, spirit, and soul as distinct from the physical body.

The word Chakra is derived from the Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’. Literally translated from the Hindi it means ‘Wheel of spinning Energy’. All things animate and inanimate are believed to have Chakras and this is because everything in existence is energy. 

There are seven main Chakras which align with the spine, starting from the base of the spine and running up through to the crown of the head. You can visualise the bodies Chakras as swirling wheels of energy where matter and consciousness meet. 

We can think of the Chakras as invisible, recharging batteries. The Chakras are charged and recharged through contact with the stream of cosmic energy and this contact regulates the flow of energy throughout the body.

The Muladhara

The Muladhara is also known as the base or Root Chakra (Sanskrit: मूलािार, IAST: Mūlādhāra, English: “root support”). This is where the three main Nadi separate and begin their upward movement.

This Chakra is represented by the color red. This Chakra draws in energy from natural sources and helps transform it into grounding life energy.

The color red symbolises: Grounding – Healing – Survival – Nourishment and Safety

The Svadhisthana

The Svadhisthana is also known as the Sacral Chakra (Sanskrit: स्वाविष्ठान, IAST: Svādhiṣṭhāna, English: “one’s own base”) This is located at the root of the sexual organs between the base of the spine and the navel.

This Chakra is represented by the color orange. This Chakra draws in passion and sexual energy.

The color orange symbolises: Creativity – Emotions – Sexuality – Flow


The Manipura is also known as the Solar Plexus or Navel Chakra (Sanskrit: मविपूर, IAST: Maṇipūra, English: “jewel city”). It is located a few inches above the navel and represents our ability to be confident and in control of our life.

This Chakra is represented by the color yellow. It is concerned with emotions, personal
power, and joy.

The color yellow symbolises: Mental Activity – Joy – Intellect -Power


Anahata is also known as the Heart Chakra and the house of the soul (Sanskrit: अनाहत, IAST: Anāhata, English: “unstruck”). This Chakra is located at your heart.

This Chakra is represented by the color green. This Chakra is the centre of the Chakra system. It is the centre of the body and draws i true and complete love energy.

The color green symbolises: Love – Care – Compassion – Gratification


Vishuddha is also known as the Throat Chakra (Sanskrit: विशुद्ध, IAST: Viśuddha, English: “especially pure”). This Chakra is located within the throat.

This Chakra is represented by the color blue. This Chakra represents the transition into the two higher Chakra centers. It is the window into truth where we communicate.

The color blue symbolises: Truth – Self Expression – Communication – Patterns


Ajna is also known as the Third Eye or Brow Chakra (Sanskrit: आज्ञा, IAST: Ājñā, English: “command”). This Chakra is located at the brown between the eyes.

This Chakra is represented by the color indigo. This Chakra is related to concentration, consciousness and energies connecting to the spiritual realms.

The color indigo symbolises: Intuition – Perception – Inner Wisdom – Psychic Vibration


Sahasrara is also known as the Crown Chakra (Sanskrit: सहस्रार, IAST: Sahasrāra, English: “thousand-petaled”). This Chakra is located at the crown of the head.

This Chakra is represented by the color violet. This chakra is also associated with white and silver light as it connects with your higher self

The color violet symbolises: Universal – Connection – Consciousness – Spirituality

So, what can we do?


When thinking about our auras we must imagine all of these colors working and flowing freely together. All of these colors work in harmony each with a different vibration and a different message and meaning. As we go through our daily life different Chakras may be drawing in more of less energy and therefore appearing more or less in our auric field. Keeping each of our Chakras in line and flowing freely can help us to feel and live a healthy life.

Let me know how you get on and what experiences you have all had.

Namaste and always stay Zen


Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email
Reclaiming Zen

Reclaiming Zen

Combining ancient wisdom with modern mind, body, and spirit science to help you live a healthy zen lifestyle.


Every item is handpicked to boost your spiritual practice. These items are picked with meaning and we know they will have a purposeful place within your life. Take a look and see how you can combine ancient wisdom with modern mind-body-science.

We offer a 30 Day Money Back Guarantee, FREE Shipping and fantastic customer service. 

Have a wonderful day!


Sign up and be the first to know about all new blogs posts.

Your email will not be shared, unsubscribe anytime, & no spam!

Thank you!


You will now receive updates about our latest

blog posts :-)